PDA

View Full Version : Dark Souls Games

Yevrah
09-08-2021, 01:44 PM
I started playing the first one over the weekend. It's bloody brilliant.

Ian
09-08-2021, 02:29 PM
I think I tried Dark Souls..... 3? Not really my cup of tea. They're the sort of thing where I quite enjoy watching Game Grumps or whoever play them and have all the frustration on my behalf.

Not sure if I've tried any other "souls-likes" but I don't think I have.

Yevrah
09-08-2021, 02:45 PM
I played it a while ago, but totally misunderstood the grinding and RPG aspects of it, both of which I love.

It's frustrating and I'm not very far through, but the game is so well designed and rewarding that even finding a new tunnel to go through feels like you've accomplished something.

Ian
09-08-2021, 02:51 PM
It does strike me as your sort of thing probably for the exact same reasons it's not mine.

I can appreciate from having watched Let's Plays of Dark Souls, Bloodborne, etc. the amount of care and craft that goes into them they're just not for me.

Disco
09-08-2021, 04:58 PM
I could never get over the lack of a quicksave, which makes the annoying trudge back to the (enjoyably challenging) bosses a fucking chore. Worse are the band of gatekeeping wankers who take umbrage at anyone suggesting such a thing (or god forbid difficulty options), as if it would affect them at all. I still like the first one though, for the design and how fuck-you obtuse it is, never bothered with any o the others but I understand the second one is crap and the third one much more like the first one and Bloodborne.

P_3
09-08-2021, 06:19 PM
I really got into the first one on the PS3, enough to get all the trophies. Will look to get all the others at some point. Really enjoyed the progression, the variety of playthroughs and the challenge.

Shindig
09-08-2021, 06:35 PM